#003 - (Ester) interviewed by M. Pickett.

**Notes: god i just want this to be over with. i dont like interviews.

P: "Alrighty, Ester, right? You're the last one I have for today."

E: "Indeed! You just interviewed Nerf, correct? I hope he didn't talk your ear off."

P: "Yes. I can assure you, I've had to deal with much more talkative folks."

E: "Oh, thank God he didn't give you much trouble, hah! So. What kind of mercenary job is this, hm? I will admit, I'm not the best shot."

P: "Oh don't worry too much about that. Actually- judging by the results of the questionnaire, we're assigning you as a medic- But I'm getting ahead of myself. What's your full name, age and date of birth?"

E: "Ester Aifren, 29, September 13th."

P: "Awesome, straight to the point. What are your pronouns?"

E: "He/him."

P: "Alright, what do you consider your strengths and weaknesses?"

E: "Ooh, hmm. I'm not afraid to get messy, and I consider myself to be a team leader of sorts. I... believe I may be a bit- how do you say it- unethical? To most people, at least."

P: "Oh that's totally fine. To be honest, most ethics kinda get thrown out the window on the battlefield. How do you work under pressure?"

E: "I do my best work under pressure!"

P: "Perfect. Do you prefer working independently or in a team?"

E: "Definitely independently. Instructing other people takes time away from what I'm actually trying to do."

P: "Well, teamwork involves more collaboration on the field rather than instruction, but I hear you. How comfortable are you with blood?"

Ester dismissively waves his hand.

E: "It's nothing to me. I could bathe in the stuff if I had to."

P: "That sentiment was quite off-putting! If you knew that someone would return perfectly fine afterwards, how comfortable would you be with fatally wounding them?"

E: "Oh? Well... what happens to their body after it dies?"

P: "...Huh?"

E: "Because if it dissolves or something it wouldn't really be practical. But if it didn't- oh the possibilities! You could sketch out their intestines or slice through their skull to study the inside. Or would it mean that they come back to life like a zombie? Would it still work if it were just a disembodied head?"

P: "Uh. I don't think it'd matter that much? This is just asking how comfortable you'd be killing them."

E: "But that's the thing. If I'm killing them just for their body to dissipate, then I think it'd be a waste of resources."

P: "I mean... let's say for this hypothetical scenario they return in a completely intact new body and the old body just stays there."

E: "Do I get to keep the body?"

P: "...If you win the match, sure."

E: "I would have absolutely no problem with it."

P: "Perfect. If you knew that you would return perfectly fine afterwards, would you be willing to be fatally wounded while working at MannCo?"

Ester takes a moment, and then shrugs.

E: "An eye for an eye, I guess. Sure."

P: "Are you willing to undergo somewhat frequent medical proc- actually, this one doesn't apply to you."

Ester tries to take a subtle peek at the paper with the questions.

E: "Medical procedures?"

P: "Oh, well you'd most likely be the one performing said medical procedures. We've determined you'd be best fitted as a Medic at MannCo. You'd be more of a support to your team, using a Medigun to heal your teammates. Though you'll get some weapons for yourself in case things go bad on the field. Do you think that would be a good fit for you?"

Ester looks excited and intrigued. Also a little unhinged.

E: "That sounds wonderful."

P: "Great! That's basically it. You're good to go! Honestly, you guys are a great fit for the teams."

E: "Oh? Why not?"

P: "Huh?"

E: "Why aren't we a great fit?"

P: "...I said you are a great fit."

E: "Oh I'm sorry, must've misread you."

P: "You're all good. Get some rest- you must be tired, and you've got a job to do tomorrow."

TRANSCRIPT END